Creating a Hem

A difficulty I ran into in the setting up process that I wasn’t quite expecting was hemming my print. At first I thought hemming tape would be an easy way to do it, but because the material is so light and transparent, it not only looked bad but I was running the risk of singing and damaging the print. After speaking with a few friends from costume who were more than willing to help but (understandably so) too busy with their degree show to do it entirely for me, and I simply don’t possess the skill set to hem such a fine and tricky material.

I ended up taking it to a seamstress to hem it for me. This was quite a stressful experience as I had to hand over my work I had spent a lot of time and money creating, and my first instinct was to think the worst and that something was going to go wrong.

Thankfully everything went fine. The seamstress followed my instructions exactly and did a great job. I had requested the loop to be exactly an inch so the pole could go through and once I got them back to the studio to test out I had a sense of relief knowing it had been done correctly. In this instance although I was completely on board for learning how to do it myself, paying for it to be done professionally was a smart decision.

through and once I got them back to the studio to test out I had a sense of relief knowing it had been done correctly. In this instance although I was completely on board for learning how to do it myself, paying for it to be done professionally was a smart decision.

Leave a Reply

